Parish Information

The Parish of Lower Creggan is located in the south of County Armagh, Ireland. It comprises three churches at Cullyhanna, Newtownhamilton and Dorsey.

Our Parish

The Parish of Lower Creggan is one of the sixty-one parishes of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Armagh. It was established in 1795 when the Parish of Creggan was divided in two, the northern part becoming Lower Creggan (Cullyhanna) and the southern part Upper Creggan (Crossmaglen).

The parish has three churches, St. Patrick’s in Cullyhanna, St. Michael’s in Newtownhamilton, and St. Oliver Plunkett’s in Dorsey. 

In 2012, the parish joined with the neighbouring parishes of Loughgilly (Whitecross) and Upper Creggan (Crossmaglen) to form the Cardinal Ó Fiaich Pastoral Area, named for the late Cardinal and Primate of All-Ireland, who was a native of the parish.

Location of Lower Creggan parish highlighted in red within the Archdiocese of Armagh.
Neighbouring parishes which also form part of the Pastoral Area of Cardinal Ó Fiaich also outlined.

Our Diocese

The Archdiocese of Armagh includes almost all of counties Armagh and Louth, approximately half of county Tyrone, a portion of county Derry, as well as some townlands in county Meath.

The archdiocese contains 61 parishes and 152 churches and serves and population of over 228,000 faithful.

There are three patrons of the archdiocese:

  • St. Patrick – feast 17th March
  • St. Malachy – feast 3rd November
  • St. Oliver Plunkett – feast 1st July

The Archbishop of Armagh is also the Primate of All-Ireland. The current Archbishop is Eamonn Martin.

The Archdiocese of Armagh highlighted on a map of the dicoeses of Ireland.